Beyond the Blanks of Life

I’ve never been married. So there will be times that I cannot fully understand the love and connection between spouses or the rejection and the loss when one abandons the other or dies.

I’ve never given birth to a child. So there will be times that I cannot fully understand the overwhelming love and sense of responsibility that comes from holding a helpless extension of yourself in your arms or having to learn to release your grip as they grow toward adulthood.

I’ve never had a steady and sure flow of material things that meet my needs or my wants. So there will be times that I cannot fully understand the drive to attain more and the necessity to have in order to be.

I’ve never been known for my physical beauty or my physical strength and prowess. So there will be times that I cannot fully understand the privileges and the importance of bling and fashion, of competition and of being first.

Above and beyond all the “I’ve never ________”‘s in life, I am still a breathing and thriving human being, a blessed woman beyond measure and someone worth knowing and worthy of respect. My heart is generous in giving and open enough to receive. My place of birth, my family, my address, my education, my résumé and my medical history are but details … and not my identity. Should you transplant me into another environment, I would still be me.

Every day that I am still living is just another opportunity for you to get know of me, face-to-face and personal. If, after I’ve been taken into God’s eternal heaven, that you decide to find out just who I am, then you will be learning second hand.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

