The Trap

When my pain turns into anger,
my rights and my fears are hard to deny.

Moments overwhelm as I am driven to retaliation,
moments linger where I wish to retreat and to hide.

Safety and security are my soul’s primary need,
acknowledgement and acceptance hover as well.

“Please hear me” I long to scream,
“Please see me” I beg and plead.

Often times I submit to acts of anger,
not to hurt you but to protect me.

Anger expressed has many forms,
both righteous and otherwise applied.

The trap that it creates is lethal and deadly,
sometimes for others but always for self.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

