When I Rest, When I Stand

With humbling acceptance and settling joy, I face each day–when I rest in HIS divine purpose for me and stand in HIS grace. It is then that I can hear HIM and not be shaken by this and that. The power is always there, if only I walk in it.

With dread and weariness, I face each day–when I live under the authority of another. It is then that I have to struggle to stay within their vision for me. Where I must go, how I must think and how long I must be silent are driven by the moment’s fairy tales and dramas. The demand is always there, and under it I am beckoned to bow.

Joshua knew of this struggle and admonished those around him to choose you this day whom you will serve, to put away the gods of their earlier life or to serve the LORD in sincerity and faithfulness.  For he had received instruction from the Almighty God to meditate on HIS Word day and night and to be careful to do what is written. For then his way would be prosperous and he would have success. Be strong and courageous!

Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego knew of this struggle. When the music began, if they refused to fall down and worship the image that had been fashioned by a mere man’s hands, they had been promised to be delivered–into mankind’s fire. “What god is there who can deliver you out of my hands?”, the earthly authority taunted. The three stood in the power of the LORD and replied, “If the God we serve exists, then He can rescue us from the furnace of blazing fire, and He can rescue us from the power of you, the king. But even if He does not rescue us, we want you as king to know that we will not serve your gods or worship the gold statue you set up.” Yea, there were four men seen walking around in that fire, unharmed. The Almighty God was with them in the blazing fire of an unholy authority and it is HE that delivered them unharmed, when the earthly authority called them out of the furnace he had fashioned for them.

With humbling acceptance and settling joy, I face each day–when I rest in HIS divine purpose for me and stand in HIS grace.

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

