Desperately

Desperately I run into Your arms. I’ve tried to run the race set before me, yet my strength has had me crawling more often than not. The weight of the world bore down heavily on my shoulders. The deadly weight of darkness upon my heart and in my mind has taken its toll.

Desperately I run into Your arms. In Your presence and in Your arms, the pain will no longer linger. Absent from this body but present with You is what You have promised; so here I am to claim eternity with You.

Desperately I run into Your arms. Yet I know in this final effort to be free and to be whole, the legacy I leave behind is yet more pain. I am too weak to fight any longer and living proves to injure others further. Even so, Lord, I know no other way but to die so that I can be with You.

(In honor of a desperate friend from a land far, far away in a time long ago.)

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

