Scarred, But Not Broken

There are scars that mark my body
where I allowed a doctor to open my skin
so that he could repair what was wrong within.

There are scars that mark my body
that are testimony to the falls I have taken
when I’ve lost my balance in this world I live in.

There are scars that score my heart and mind
and that have plowed furrows into my soul
when others have delivered their best for me.

Let it be said and above all let it be understood
that these scars of mine are not my identity
nor are they my excuses to live a miserable life.

Let it be said and above all let it be understood
that these scars of mine are the beginning and
the end of each chapter in a divine story to be told.

Let it be said and above all let it be heard
that though I cannot always control all that
happens in life I know the One Who can.

What enters my life never takes HIM by surprise
though HE will weep and mourn with me
when there is injury, harm and strife.

What enters my life never takes HIM by surprise
and HE is there in Spirit with comfort and healing
as I remain open and dependent upon HIM.

What enters my life if constantly filtered by HIS
Wisdom and Knowledge in humble and total trust
will always propel me forward by HIS grace and love.

This does not suggest a passive way of life
wherein I simply go with the flow and
thereby ignorantly do as I am told.

This does not suggest an aggressive way of life
wherein I assertively bully others into submission
while I enact a savior’s or warrior’s fight.

HE and HE alone is able to discern what is best
and the way I should go and HE is capable
and willing to guide me with each and every step.

HE and HE alone is able to discern what is wise
in whom I should align and in what I should invest
so that the good work in me HE has started will bless.

HE and HE alone possesses all knowledge and holiness
to exact judgment and punishment and redemption
on any and all creatures here by HIS divine plan.

With HIS power then I can live with confidence
and not as a victim as together we face
the days and the nights in the events of life.

With HIS peace then I can live with assurance
and not in fear as together we face the moments
and even the years of adversity and trial.

With HIS protection then I can run with abandonment
toward those people, places and things which are healthy
and whole and away from that which is not.

One thought on “Scarred, But Not Broken

Now it's your turn. What are you thinking?

